Hearty Farty

fullsizerender-3

Pun intended!! I made this a few weeks ago, a friend mentioned that Hobby Craft had an offer on for air drying clay and since I have wanted to try a pottery class I thought why not! So I trotted off down to Hobby Craft and grabbed  1kg of the stuff. 

This was my first attempt, I was happy with the size just not the thickness, it took around a day to dry. Once it had completely dried through I noticed it started to bow.

I think it needs to be thicker and perhaps have a slightly heavy object to keep it flat (not too heavy to squash it!!

I also stamped this with a clean stamp (when wet) and re-stamped it with ink when dry, giving the effect shown.  

NOTE: I used tape to create my lines and painted this with acrylic paint, I did notice the paint started to peel off!! I was advise acrylic would be ok, but I would suggest pre-colour your clay before shaping! Keeping the letters and lines covered (once dried with turquoise paint) I chucked a load of gold paint, extremely Jackson Pollock.

I kept a hook hole to hang this up with some hessian string. Overall I would recommend using this clay for fun little projects like this!!

What I used

White Air Drying Clay 1 kg – Hobby Craft – £3.75

DecoArt Americana Desert Turquoise Acrylic Paint 59 m – Hobby Craft – £2.00

DecoArt Dazzling Metallics Rich Espresso Elegant Finish Paint 59 ml – £2.50

The stamps I used where a present but you can buy these at The Range or Hobby Craft

Leave a Reply

